Skip to main content

Arts and Cultural Advisory Committee

Expressions of Interest to join the Committee open from 5 to 19 February 2020. To nominate, visit the Join the Arts and Cultural Advisory page on the Casey Conversations website.

The Committee comprises a range of community members that represent different creative forms and practices. It also reflects the diversity of Casey’s population and geography. The Committee provides advice to the City of Casey on the arts and the cultural needs of the community. It also advises on arts and cultural policies and strategies.

The Committee objectives are to:

  • Keep Council informed of emerging needs or issues representative of the arts and cultural community
  • Facilitate communication between community representatives and Council in arts and cultural related disciplines
  • Contribute to discussions regarding Council’s priorities for arts and cultural development within the municipality, consistent with Council’s strategies and policies
  • Contribute to the periodic review of Council’s arts and cultural strategies, policies, programs and services
  • Contribute to the development and enhancement of a strong, recognisable public profile for the arts in Casey

Council will ultimately determine the matters having regard to the advice of the Arts and Cultural Advisory Committee.

Committee meetings are held on a Monday evening, every quarter. View the terms of reference and the member declaration.

For more information, contact us.

The Arts and Cultural Advisory Committee (2020 - 2022)

These are current members of the Committee. We are now inviting Expressions of Interest for new members.

  • Ms Stephanie Sacco
    Curator at the Town Hall Gallery Boroondara, Alumnus and former employee of Cathy-Lea Dance Music Drama Works.
  • Charitha Dissanayake
    Charitha has presented a weekly Sri Lankan radio program for almost twenty years. He holds two masters of Arts degrees and is a current PhD candidate with a speciality in developing radio in Australia for an ethnic audience.
  • Joy Sellars
    A member of Yarn and Art program based at the Aboriginal Gathering Place in Doveton, Joy’s focus is to promote, encourage and support understanding of Aboriginal people and their art to the broader Casey community.
  • Tannia MacMartin (Nia)
    Nia is a speaker, author and a performing singer-songwriter. She is an experienced management professional across a broad range of industries including corporate and not-for-profit organisations and small to medium enterprises.
  • Verity Bosanquet
    Verity is a young artist and current member of the Arts Agitators, a multidisciplinary youth arts collective that delivers creative projects to the broader Casey community.