South East Melbourne Group of Councils

The City of Casey is a member of the South East Melbourne (SEM) Group of Councils. SEM includes the shires of Bass Coast, Cardinia and Mornington Peninsula and the cities of Casey, Frankston, Greater Dandenong and Kingston. Collectively, the SEM Group represent one of Victoria’s most socially and environmentally diverse, economically significant and rapidly expanding regions and on behalf of their communities, advocate for the changes required to sustain growth in the future.

Regional Plan 2015-2019

In August 2015 the SEM Group launched its Regional Plan 2015-2019.

The plan articulates how the seven SEM Councils will work together to address and respond to issues impacting the south east Melbourne region over the next four years and beyond.

The plan highlights a number of key priorities focused on increasing employment and attracting future business investment, growing our manufacturing and agricultural sectors, improving tourism and visitation opportunities, nurturing education and skills training, investing in vital infrastructure including high speed broadband and the continued improvement of intra-regional public transport.

The plan also addresses other issues including anti-social behaviour, housing affordability and demand, the growth of our bicycle networks and the need for the Port of Hastings development which will help fill a regional employment gap and bring with it numerous other regional economic benefits.